ASU Fall Semester 2017 Week 0.5

Year 3 kicked off officially on 8/17 for me. Two out of three classes came online Monday, with one online Tuesday. My fourth class is online, but the due dates are all off and conflicting professors are reported so not sure what is going on there. This semester I’ve got a mix of session A and session C courses. Session A runs for 7.5 weeks and I’ve got EEE 230 – Computer Organization and Assembly Language. Session C is a full 15 weeks so at about the midpoint of the semester, I’ll just have three courses to focus on. Hopefully this will be the only semester where I have a mix of 7.5 and 15 week courses. My session C courses are EEE 241 – Fundamentals of Electromagnetics, EEE 334 – Circuits II and EEE 350 – Random Signal Analysis.

EEE 230 – Computer Organization & Assembly Language starts off with only two topics this short week covering some background information and decimal, hexadecimal, and binary conversions. No labs, but a quiz due Monday. Looks like we get multiple attempts for the quizzes and highest score is counted. In addition to weekly quizzes there will be labs/homework assignments and a final exam. Hopefully won’t be too bad. I took a course similar to this at UCR so hopefully it will come back to me.

EEE 241 – Fundamentals of Electromagnetics is supposed to be wickedly challenging. Numerous EE’s I’ve spoken with have told me its the toughest course. Advice from a friend was to start praying. This first week we’ve been looking at a review of vector calculus and Cartesian, cylindrical and spherical coordinate systems. A lot of review from MAT267 which is welcomed. I fear I’ve forgotten too much, but hopefully after running through the homework assignments it will all come back to me. There will be weekly homework assignments, 2 midterms and a final exam.

EEE 334 – Circuits II is hard to say too much about since the blackboard site has a few missing details, but looks like six long labs, homework, quizzes, probably a midterm or two and a final, but not 100% sure. Hopefully by end of day Friday everything will be updated, but definitely most unusual for a course to be late and no communications from the professor at the time of this post. The topics for the first two weeks though are all on op-amps which look really neat. I’ve never messed with them so really looking forward to learning more about them.

EEE 350 – Random Signal Analysis starts off with discussions on Set Theory and Probability which I’ve seen a bit of, but its been a long time. I’m not sure what to make of this course yet, but curious to learn more. Looks like 7 homework assignments, 2 midterms and a final exam.

From what I can tell of the session C courses, they are a 7.5 week course stretch out so topics seem to be discussed for around 2 weeks instead of the usual 1 week. I really hope this is a bit more manageable and allows me more time to really work with a topic. Sometimes I have to go through things a couple of times, reflect on it and come back before it clicks and I’ve felt so rush lately. Keeping my fingers crossed I can make it through!

Lastly, I’m also an undergrad teaching assistant for EEE 202 Circuits I session A and session B this semester. I had EEE 202 last spring and really liked the course, but definitely felt I could have used a bit more time and practice so hopefully by helping others, I’ll get a bit more confidence and be much better at analyzing circuits.

Leave a Reply

