ASU Spring 2017 Session B Week 4 Update

I think I’ve just about kicked that cold from last week to the curb. EEE 202 Circuits I has been really interesting and pretty challenging this week. This week the lectures focused on first and second order transient circuits. First order circuits looked at resistor and capacitor or resistor and inductor circuits where the second order circuits were various combinations of RLC (resistor, inductor and capacitor circuits). Differential equations play a very important part in solving these equations in addition to the unit step function.

I am not 100% comfortable with the second order circuits yet. I still think a big part of circuit analysis is practicing and working through as many problems as you can find. The more you do the better you get. I wish I had more time for this EEE 202 class. This is one course I think ASU should have at a full semester, but that is just not in the cards for me. Good news is though that I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve been study, just wish I had more time to study. Seems like I wake up, crack open the books and work most of the day until it is time to go bed and then do it all over again the next day.

This week’s lab had me working through Thévenin, Superposition and Delta-Wye transformation. I’d had a little bit of trouble with the Delta-Wye circuits but after working through the lab, they weren’t so bad. Again the lab centered around using LTspice for the simulating the circuits and then building the circuits on a breadboard and taking measurements with the multimeter and or the Digilent Analog Discovery.

In PHY 241, two chapters were covered – Chapter 21 on Superposition and Chapter 22 on Wave Optics. Some of the theory that was studied way back in FSE 100 on musical instruments was looked at in greater detail which was neat to see again. Standard issue Mastering Physics homework problems that weren’t too bad.

Also, Test 2 is coming up next week on Tuesday so I got started on reviewing the four wave chapters and practice test that the professor posted. Glad this last physics class is almost done!

I think I’ve just about kicked that cold from last week to the curb. EEE 202 Circuits I has been really interesting and pretty challenging this week. This week the lectures focused on first and second order transient circuits. First order circuits looked at resistor and capacitor or resistor and inductor circuits where the second order circuits were various combinations of RLC (resistor, inductor and capacitor circuits). Differential equations play a very important part in solving these equations in addition to the unit step function.

Leave a Reply

