ASU Spring 2017 Session A Week 2 Update

It’s been a busy week! This week in PHY 131 I studied

  • Chapter 26 – Electric Field
  • Chapter 27 – Gauss’ Law

Two 14 problem homework assignments were due and I was able to get those knocked out well in advance. Some questions were rather straight forward but others were pretty complicated. Chapter 26 requires a bit of integral calculus and figuring out the electric fields can be a bit tricky. Chapter 27 finds us using surface integrals, but weren’t too bad.

My first test in PHY 131 will be next week on Tuesday 1/24.The test covers chapters 25, 26 & 27. It’s worth 15% of my grade. The professor provided a practice test for us to work through on the Mastering Physics site and I’ve been going through the problems. In addition, I’ve been working through the ActivePhysics questions also on the Mastering Physics site and watching Michel Van Biezen’s videos on youtube.com. Hopefully I’ll have the major concepts down by Tuesday. A bit nervous

In PHY 132 our first lab on Coulomb’s Law was due on Wednesday. I still can’t believe how much work goes into the labs. Multiple parts, a lot of sample calculations and questions to answers. Didn’t have to work with error propagation at all on this lab. I’m working on breaking up the work for the labs over a few days. The prelab quiz wasn’t too bad. I think there were four questions and I had a 15/15 on my first attempt. I got my lab back this morning and had an 85/85 so hopefully I can continue that for the next six labs.

Leave a Reply

