ASU Fall 2016 Session B Week 6 Update

I survived my midterms! Somehow in MAT 275 I pulled off a perfect score much to my surprise. In MAT 343, a 92.17% which I’ll take. Darn true false questions got the best of me on that test so I have to do a better job on those.

The professor push the due dates back on some of the MAT 275 homework sets which was nice. I think I had finished two already before I saw the email, but still glad those are done. I didn’t get a lot of homework done last weekend studying so the last few days have been busy trying to get ahead again. For the most part, I’ve been concentrating on the linear algebra homework assignments this week.

Yesterday a MAT 275 was due. That one was looking at damped and undamped spring mass systems. In PHY 121 we looked briefly at those, but didn’t really get into them too much due to differential equations being needed. It was nice to see them revisiting this course and get to use MATLAB to see how changing the damping constant impacts the system. The next MAT 343 lab looks at Least Squares and is due Saturday.

MAT 343 we’ll be studying:

  • Least Square Problems
  • Inner Product Subspaces
  • Orthonormal Sets
  • The Gram-Schmidt Orthogonalization Process

In addition to all those topics, we have an exam on 11/27 covering all the Orthogonality sections. It’s not proctored and is worth 10% of our grade. It seems like it’s really just memorizing the patterns and formulas so I need to get them into Anki and review so I’ve got them down for the final which will be 12/1.

MAT 275 we’re looking at

  • Discontinuous Forcing Functions
  • Impulse Functions
  • Introduction to First Order Systems
  • Reviewing Matrices

Definitely getting close to the end and I think I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. Hopefully it’s not a train coming! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

