ASU Fall 2016 Session B Week 5 Update

Coming up on the last few weeks of MAT 343 and MAT 275. Couple more homework assignments, a few more labs, midterms and finals. The next few weeks will have most of the course grades due. Monday and Tuesday next week I have midterms so I don’t expect to be doing much over the weekend short of studying.

I’m really nervous about the MAT 343 midterm given how many questions were on the first exam. I was really pressed for time at the end and some of these problems take a really long time to solve. Some of the homework problems have been pretty straightforward, while others still seem like a foreign language. I still have a number of topics I need to review and get more comfortable with, but I’ve work through all the homework that will make up the exam. Note from the professor seemed to indicate that if you were comfortable with the homework  you should do fine. I haven’t been able to do as many extra book problems I would have hoped the past few weeks, but doing the best that I can with the 24 hours in a day I’ve got.

Had a nice surprise in the form of some extra credit in MAT 275 which was unexpected. Apparently one of the questions was from Chapter 3 which wasn’t supposed to be on the exam so the professor made that question worth an extra point for those who got it right. Nice to have a small cushion if needed.

MAT 275’s midterm will be done on Tuesday and for the most part, I feel I’ve understood the homework questions from chapter three covering homogeneous, constant coefficient DEs, etc. Will know for sure how well I understand it all Tuesday.  Test information also indicates that we’ve got to be ready for questions from chapter 1 and chapter 2. I’ve been practicing my flash cards and reviewing integration techniques so hopefully I can solve everything thrown at me. I still need to review partial fraction integration techniques a bit more, but we haven’t seen a lot of those lately.

Both classes this week had two MATLAB assignments due. The Lab 4 for MAT 343 was pretty fun. We looked at how to use matrices to make various rudimentary computer animations. MAT 275’s lab was probably more useful long term though. It covered using MATLAB’s ode45 differential equation solver. 2 more MATLAB assignments remain.

Next week in MAT 343 we’ll be studying:

  • Matrix Representations of Linear Transformations
  • The Scalar Product of ℜ^n
  • Orthogonal Subspaces

MAT 275 menu for next week:

  • Definition of the Laplace Transform
  • Solution of Initial Value Problems
  • Step Functions

Back to the books!

Leave a Reply

