ASU Fall 2016 Session B Week 1 Update

This session, I’m signed up to take MAT 275 – Modern Differential Equations and MAT 343 – Applied Linear Algebra. I have the same professor for both classes. I’d been nervous that I’d have two tests on the same day, but looks like things are spaced out well enough that that won’t be an issue. Definitely have assignments due the same day though but I plan to work ahead as much as possible.

Both math classes have a MATLAB component. Rumor has it, that the labs can take some time to work through. Hopefully as I get more comfortable with MATLAB I’ll be able to spend less time looking up function and fighting syntax errors. Classes officially started up Wednesday, but last weekend, I took advantage of being on break and got started on the first labs for both classes. The labs mostly just had us getting familiar with MATLAB. Hopefully I have everything solved correctly. ASU provides students with a copy of MATLAB which is great.

We start off MAT 275 with the following topics:

  • Classification of Differential Equations
  • Separable Equations

The lecture videos seem to be a little bit scattered on this class and really long. There are example problem videos scattered about as well. My MAT 267 professor has some very helpful and concise videos up on his page which I’ve found very helpful. Hopefully this time around with differential equations I can make it through. I really struggled with Differential Equations 20 years ago at UCR.

MAT 343 has us looking at

  • Systems of Linear Equations
  • Row Eschelon Form
  • Matrix Arithmetic
  • Matrix Algebra

I made it through the first two sections last spring before I got sick and had to drop the class and I saved my notes so the first two homework assignments weren’t too bad. On the homework assignments both classes have 2 assignments due every few days.

The Spring 2017 schedule of classes came out yesterday. Looks like all the classes I was planning on taking will be offered when I was looking to take them. I’m able to register for Spring already next week! Hard to believe that is not too far off!

Session A I’ll be continuing my physics studies with PHY 131 – Physics II – Electricity and Magnetism and PHY 132 – Physics II Lab. Session B will be EEE 202 – Circuits I and EEE 230 – Computer Organization and Assembly Language Programming. Provided of course I can survive differential equations and PHY 131 & 132!

ASU sent out a note yesterday that a lot of the EEE courses will be switching over to Session C classes which instead of running 7.5 weeks, will run a full semester. I think this will be a good thing. There have been a few classes that have been very challenging to master the amount of material presented and I think having additional time for the labs and course will be a good thing. I don’t think this change will impact me until Fall 2017. I’m not sure yet if it changes my class plan, but over the next few weeks I plan to get an appointment with my academic advisor to make sure I’ve got a doable plan worked out to successfully complete the program.

That’s all the news for now. I better get back to MAT 275 and MAT 343!

Leave a Reply

