ASU Summer 2016 Session B Week 7 Update

I wrapped up MAT 267 – Calculus III Tuesday. I did better on the final than the third exam. Overall, if my math is correct I was able to pull off a solid B in this course. A bit disappointed I wasn’t able to earn an A but still a respectable score to walk away with given the accelerated nature of the course and my commitments outside of school.

I definitely learned a few important things this semester. For one, make sure you know what your calculator is capable of. I found out late Sunday night that there is a function on my TI NSpire CX that will calculate a definite integral if you feed it correctly. I’ve definitely got a lot of practice calculating those by hand, but you can’t dismiss the time savings and accuracy of having a tool that will do those for you.

Outside of school, I volunteered back in late 2015 to be an Assistant Scoutmaster for the Golden Empire’s National Youth Leadership Training. I spent the last Thursday thru Sunday up at Camp Lassen and took my final Tuesday. I was able to get in a bit of study time, but didn’t get to all of the items I’d hoped to review. I hope my involvement has helped the youth who are participating though. With these ultra accelerated summer sessions, in hind site, not sure I would take on both Calc III and NYLT, but the greater good prevails and hopefully my participation in NYLT has had a positive impact on the scouts.

Next up, I’ll be taking a break from math and be diving back into Physics 121 and 122. Classes resume 8/18. Until then, time to enjoy a few beers, video games and time with my wife and kids before I start year two.

 

Leave a Reply

