ASU Summer 2016 Session B Week 5 Update

It has been another very busy week. Feels like I’ve been working non-stop on Calculus. My wife would agree. Last Saturday I had my second exam. If I could actually copy an equation correctly I would have had a much better score, but unfortunately a careless mistake cost me an A on the exam. Extremely frustrating and disappointing, but hopefully I’ll be able to do better on the next Exam coming up on the 30th.

This week, lectures continued the Multiple Integral discussion and have focused on

  • Double Integrals in Polar Coordinates
  • Triple Integrals
  • Triple Integrals in Cylindrical Coordinates
  • Triple Integrals in Spherical Coordinates

I’m still ahead on homework and have been averaging one section per day. I have definitely had a number of very late nights to maintain that pace. A lot of the problems from the homework have centered around finding or changing the order of integration and being able to move between Cartesian, Polar, Cylindrical and Spherical Coordinate systems. I find it fascinating to see how a complicated integral can be tamed by switching to a different coordinate system.

I definitely have developed a love/hate relationship with multiple integral equations. It is great when you’re able to get the answer after chugging away at a problem for 20 minutes, but to balance that out, when you’re wrong, I find it takes me 20 or 30 minutes to find where I’m off. Definitely had to use a few new swear word combinations over the past few days. Usually a missed sign or forgetting to divide by something. As I’ve been practicing problems for this Saturdays 3rd exam, hopefully I’ll be ready.

These six week summer classes move so quickly. Almost done though, one more chapter with 7 sections and a final exam after Saturday.

 

 

Leave a Reply

