ASU Summer 2016 Session B Week 3 Update

I survived my first test in MAT 267 yesterday. This one counted for 10% of our total grade and wasn’t proctored. 12 questions and 2 hours to complete them. Topics were all on Chapter 10 – Vectors and the Geometry of Space. Most of the questions were pretty straight forward and I was able to score an 11.83/12 on the exam. I missed a question where we were given an acceleration vector and the vectors for velocity and position at time 0 and then needed to work back to find the general velocity and position vector equations. I missed 1/6 of that question, switching a sign. Very frustrating. The Calculus was easy, it’s that darn arithmetic that is hard sometimes!! All the questions were straight from the homework set and I had 100% on all of the homework questions to date. That problem I missed on the exam took me a number of attempts on the homework, but at least there were no surprises on the exam.

In addition to spending a lot of time preparing for the first exam, this week we moved into Chapter 11 – Partial Derivatives.

Topics included

  • Functions of Two Variables
  • Partial Derivatives
  • Tangent Planes and Linear Approximations
  • The Chain Rule

Homework hasn’t been too heavy this week, just more of the same read the corresponding section in the textbook, watch the video, add new flash cards to my flash card deck, do homework.

Next week on 7/23 I have Exam 2 which will count for 25% of my grade and is proctored online through http://www.proctoru.com. Test prep information highlights materials from chapter 11 and perhaps some from chapter 10. Biggest challenge I think with Chapter 11 will be remembering all of the derivatives going back to MAT 265 – Calculus I. I have been reviewing a flash card deck of the various Integrals and derivatives so hopefully I won’t forget any come the exam.

Not much else to report this week! Back to the books!

Leave a Reply

